WAITING, WAITING, WAITING. 

 I find prayer to be that breath of my soul without which my spiritual life is dead. Today, I will share with you a short devotion on the power of prayer. Many times we think of prayer as that little shopping basket we pick up at the entrance of the mall to take a few groceries for the next few days.

images

Once the groceries lie on our kitchen table, we are satisfied to know we can grab and get going. However, prayer sometimes is like waiting for the month end to come before you can buy the groceries, and the waiting comes with Joy for them that have learnt the power of waiting.

It is my daily desire that my heart would remain in communion with that of my Savior. David reminds us in Psalm 27:14 “Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart; wait, I say, on the Lord.

What are you waiting for? Do you think your Master is held up somewhere? He waited until Lazarus died, and His power was more evident in the death of Lazarus than if He appeared on the scene in the life and sickness of Lazarus.

What can waiting do for you?

WAIT!!! Let me share this with you….Let me share with you just a few of the things you’d miss out on if life was an INSTANT gratification of our wants, and not a PATIENT waiting upon the Lord to fulfill our desires. 

Sometimes, God’s most precious answer remains, “wait.”
For in this answer, He calls you to see beyond the present.
He brings to your remembrance His leading in your past,
He opens unique eyes to His chains of providence,
And grants you a vision glorious for the future that awaits.

Had it not been for the wait,
You’d forget that He’s the Author of time.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d not know the depths of His love.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d be oblivious to your weakness.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d not know the power of His strength.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d not experience His timely rescue.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d miss out on the vision of His forthcoming answer.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d not realize His creative power to design.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d not have been tenderly refined.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d have been in your misery confined.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d miss out on the power of prayer to realize.
Had it not been for the wait,
You’d not place value on the weight of answers.

Wait upon Him, and let Him use you one day at a time to fulfill His purpose for you!

One step at a time, and He will get you there.

Amen.

IMG_1213

“Use me today in your service,
Choose me today for your office,
Lose me today from Satan’s devices,
Save me from the evil one’s abyss,
Let my soul know not demise,
Let your power be my experience.
Save me from a life at ease.
Grant me true temperance.
Give me thine holy kiss.”

~Beryl Nyamwange

