“He who died for the sins of the world was to remain in the tomb the allotted time. He was in that stony prison house as a prisoner of divine justice. He was responsible to the Judge of the Universe. He was bearing the sins of the world, and His Father only could release Him.” The Faith I Live By, pg. 44. 

OUR HUMBLE Savior and Lord calls Himself a “Prisoner of Divine Justice.” My favorite bible character Paul– is often referred to as prisoner of Jesus Christ. (Philemon 1:1) Wherever there’s human suffering, that’s a tough place to be. When we walk through prison doors, and pray with the sick, there is a kind of anger filled with courage. Anger for the sin that has led to this, and courage for the hope that there is! Having had the privilege of serving in different parts of the globe, I have angered and wept when I lifted children and could count their ribs; when people’s limbs were cut off because of war; when I interviewed a blind woman who circumcised girl children and they died in her arms. The atrocities are plenty, but there is HOPE!

My children in Sierra Leone
My children and I in Sierra Leone

“No thief can steal hope however armored they may be.”

Today, I wish to echo the prisoner’s voice; the voice of the unheard; the voice of those within walls that human eyes cannot see; the voice of those crying deep within for love that knows no bounds. “All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God,” and while we were yet sinners…Christ died… for US (Romans 5:8). There is hope that we who have sinned can rise up to experience the glory of God, not only now, but eternally, if we believe (John 3:16). “Let the sighing of the prisoner come before thee; according to the greatness of thy power preserve thou those that are appointed to die.” Psalm 79:11

Just about finishing writing this article, a Yahoo News article has caught my eye about “Pollsmoor Prison” which is not far from us, and a portion of it speaks of the possibility of the property being sold, but that “the inmates are going nowhere.” Man may say, but if the prisoners find THE MAN JESUS, they are sure GOING SOMEWHERE!  We are by the grace of God, reaching out to 1,000 prisoners and patients through the “Jewel of Joy” Bags.

For more information on the project, please click on Ministry of Mercy main menu.

1,000 Jewel of Joy Bags for Prisoners and Patients
1,000 Jewel of Joy Bags for Prisoners and Patients. PLEASE COMMIT THIS PROGRAM TO PRAYER!

Now to hear their voices….in my head… BUT WITH LOVE ONLY……

Provoke me, but unto love only.

Not with demeaning words or intentions

that wreck the weakened nerve.

Not to raise me unto self to love,

But to bid me go forward and serve.

Correct me, but with love only.

A mixture of justice and mercy,

that awakens me to the reality of my sin

and brings me down in the knees of repentance;

not a soothing with itching ears

that would render me repeat the sin in layers

because the carnal nature desires so.

Rebuke me, but with love only.

Not with an abuse of my person in Christ Jesus,

for though falling, a righteous man rises up again,

to tell the story of his upward fall,

that they that be bowed down low,

may hear the Voice that streams from the heavens

and they will yearn to come up higher.

Charge me, but unto love and good works;

not a surge towards evil and its plight;

for yet in the power of the Holy Spirit,

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.

Yes, it may take me lengths,

for in human eyes I have been sentenced,

Yet freedom in Him is mine to have again.

Love me, with the love of Christ;

a love that pursues me on the pathway when I am lost.

A love that will neither leave me alone nor endure loss.

A love that calls me by my name,

A love that takes away my shame.

Warn me, but with love only,

and the faith of the soon coming King I shall behold,

and others in the largesse of earth’s temporary comforts call;

to lift up the banner of Christ after all,

and to cast every false wind of doctrine

to its final inescapable downward fall.

Quiet me, but with love only,

that I may hear the voice from above,

the sound of sweetness that bids me live,

to the fullest of my God given calling,

to the nourishment of others

who need a purging and a surging

towards divinity.

See me, but with love only,

through the eyes of Jesus the Begotten,

and in His power I shall rise again,

and this mortal soul shall work the works,

speak the words and think the thoughts

of Him that has this second chance at life given.

~Beryl Nyamwange

Joe & Beryl listening in in Togo.
Joe & Beryl listening in in Togo. There’s always so much to learn! May God provoke us all unto His works (Ephesians 2:10)
