People need the Lord.”

The words of a song you are familiar with.

The reality of life on the streets.

The truth of hearts made sour and bitter by atrocities.

Yet, people need the Lord. I need the Lord! 

I am enjoying sitting at the feet of my academic mentor: a man who values stories as I do; who loves books as I do. I am learning about me, and about my environment. I am asking questions about the future, yet I know the ANSWER is already in my tomorrow. Peace. 

 The week is filled with fun and glimpses of my life’s passion, and what a joy that my husband Joe is with me! I stop to think about His purpose as divinely wired within me: how justice beats in my heart each day. I hear the sound of my voice shreaking higher and higher, demanding a hearing that goes beyond sound to action; action- to save a young, innocent girl being raped, to help a widow with her grocery shopping, to tell a boy about the dangers of drug abuse, and to pray with someone whose mirror is nothing but the hard and silent walls of a small prison cubicle.  

Must I speak?

Must I defend?

Must I let it be another’s business?

Does it matter that I share my heart? 

I struggle with these questions often. I find one answer tucked wonderfully between the divine pages. He speaks, He speaks, He speaks, and tells me what is inside of His heart. And that’s what matters. 

He says,

“For I the LORD love justice;
I hate robbery and wrong.
I will faithfully give them their recompense,
and I will make an everlasting covenant with them.” Isaiah 61:8. 

“Of the increase of his government and peace there shall be no end, upon the throne of David, and upon his kingdom, to order it, and to establish it with judgment and with justice from henceforth even for ever. The zeal of the LORD of hosts will perform this.” Isaiah 9:7

Here’s the equation : God loves = Justice. God hates = robbery + wrong.

How about me His child? 

 

IMG_2275

Every single day, the divine Hand tunes my heart to beat;

Thousands of beats my breath receives with an upbeat,

But the one that beats the loudest and most consistently,

Is the ceaseless beat of justice.

 

I grasp for breath at the thought of the rape of a sweet damsel.

I stop breathing at the mental picture of a young male;

Brutally murdered and body mutilated in the name of justice.

Faces constrained and countenances longing for prevailing peace.

 

Life chills within me at the thought of an abortive act;

Seemingly one of today’s prevalent News artifacts.

The breath of a complete image and likeness of God snuffed and muffed,

Destroyed before the light of day by the hand of divinity is cast.

 

Darkness pervades my vision at the glimpse

Of an orphan going without basic necessities, knowing not the joy of a kiss.

Sunset cowers on my rainbow of bliss

When a worker is fired based on the kaleidoscope of skin!

 

My five senses cringe at the reality of a widow,

My sixth sense bows down in prayer,

For the homeless, pitiable, emaciated and worn!

Let God alone deal mercifully with me and with the slayer.

 

Let this heartbeat not die over my lifeless body,

Let not this heartbeat slow down in reckless fear,

For while I yet live, I will make my vocals loud,

I will speak and be heard, I will shout and be clear.

 

I will roar loud like a lion protecting her cubs,

Loud enough beyond my immediate suburbs,

Because my heartbeat will spring me to action,

Henceforth I know I will not act alone.

 

My heartbeat of justice will stamp my feet

Upon the path of solutions, though the steps take time,

Peace, we shout! Peace knows no defeat!

Here comes peace on time:

 

To seek wisdom from above,

To respond to injustice with love,

To give away my hands to serve,

To look to the heavens above.

 

To know there’s more than chaff;

There’s some good in the hearts made rough,

Toughened by heinous crimes,

Hardened by the passing of time.

 

For this race of humanity,

Must also become the race for humanity-

A chasing after peace that it may not wander alone

But dwell not only within, but also without and amongst us.

 

A chasing after love, that it may not serve personal gain,

But lives in jeopardy for goodness sake regain.

A chasing of kindness that it may not target kindred alone,

But the whole human family becoming kin and kindred as one.

 

Let justice beat, but not to harm.

Let justice beat, but to restore.

Let justice beat, never to demean.

Let justice beat, right doing extol.

 

Let peace prevail.

Let the prize for peace avail.

Peace not only Nobel,

But peace also noble.

“The zeal of the Lord of hosts will perform this.” Isaiah 9:7. Amen. 

~Beryl Nyamwange 

