An elderly man shared with us from Isaiah 54:17, and I was impressed to share this poem.

Look upon the face that has experienced freckles and welcomed tears. Find wisdom embedded between wrinkles and a gentle smile. Behold the eyes that have seen many sunrises and beholds yet a few more sunsets. Ponder the imaginations of a mind that has thought through many experiences and traversed many a heartache. Feel the hands that have touched wounds and given hugs, held grandchildren and now are held! This is the power of aging gracefully…. Of knowing Him who gives eternal life. Hence, this elderly man has taught me a few more lessons this week.

grace1

He read to us from Isaiah 54:17, and my heart was impressed with the poem below.

“NO WEAPON that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord.”

THE BATTLE IS THE LORD’S.

The enemy camp door is split open, 

The fury of his wrath hotter than an oven,

His bandits on the streets of human lives,

Cutting human minds with carnal knives.

 

The power of God has never changed, 

He has no need for leverage,

It’s not a competition with the enemy camp,

Winning has always been God’s stamp.

 

I am on the Lord’s winning side, 

He’s my joy and eternal source of pride,

My foes stand as nothingness,

For I can always trust God’s faithfulness.

 

The enemy camp must remain split,

For there is no weapon formed against me

That will ever prosper or cause me hurts,

When I know the battles is with Him.

 

My ammunition of prayer shall stand,

For when I am on my knees I am strong.

I shall be led forth by His mighty hand,

And to my heart strings He tunes a new song.

 

My weapon of praise I will unleash,

To scatter the enemy tactics fast,

As I sing praises to the Most High King,

He who comes when upon Him my burdens I cast.

 

My powerhouse of peace shall remain impenetrable,

For the wall of my heart is surrounded by His presence,

And no evil weapon shall break the strongholds,

That the Father has set to guard as His citadel.

 

My joy of overcoming shall be permanent,

My weapons of strength shall be obvious,

As the Commander leads me, He the imminent,

To paths I do not know yet pathways joyous.

 

May this be your song!

~Beryl Nyamwange

