“There’s no limit to the usefulness of the one who, putting self aside, makes room for the working of the Holy Spirit upon his heart and lives a life wholly consecrated to God.” My Life Today, Ellen G. White, p. 37. 

Growing up, I recall my Dad’s shopping boxes and my urge to see the content, not because I was interested in knowing what he bought, but more so because I wanted to read all the labels. I remember the first time I saw the word, “Immediately” and it sounded like the size of the whole universe. But then I came across another one, quit short…., “LTD.” This short one never seemed to make sense because there was not a single vowel in it. How could I pronounce it? I soon learnt that companies/organizations used it as part of their name. Overtime, I also learnt it was “limited” spelt in short form.

I ponder those days with great joy in my heart, and today, we are blessed with a library of books we enjoy reading, and my dear Husband Joe, loves to read as well! Reading has been that voracious activity of our lives, and through reading my soul has continued to enriched. Since we got married, it has been our daily habit to read together each morning and each  night. 

Back to the world “limited,” the “LTD” that bothered my childhood mind; that word that I could not pronounce. Today, I know there’s a better word than limited, and it is limitless. Today, I choose to see things in a limitless way. 

“There’s no limit to the usefulness of the one who, putting self aside, makes room for the working of the Holy Spirit upon his heart and lives a life wholly consecrated to God.” My Life Today, Ellen G. White, p. 37.

We live in a society filled with inequalities and imbalances. Some are hard to pronounce- like when a three month old baby is raped, or a 90 year old grandma is told to swim on the grass during war. Limited thinking! These inequalities abound, but there’s hope, for there’s One who has made all…

“And hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth, and hath determined the times before appointed, and the bounds of their habitation.” Acts 17:26

We are each strategically positioned to fulfill the purpose designed for us, using our image and likeness with Christ, our time appointed to us, and our habitation.  

“However limiting circumstances may pose, the providence of God never is never on pause.”

Dear reader, there remain possibilities. Help me see…..and I hope one stanza here will speak to your situation or to that of someone you know, and will send you to bow the knee in intercession. Help me see…..limitless possibilities. 

LIMITLESS POSSIBILITIES

I see limitless possibilities,

In a child born with deformities,

For I know that He who created humanity,

Can through this child work miraculously,

I see limitless possibilities,

In a child with a temperament hyperactive,

For I know that He who averts calamities,

Can through this child do a work bold and active,

I see limitless possibilities,

In a youth swayed by drugs and swamped in sin,

For I know that God sees his potential and abilities,

And can express them through His divinity,

I see limitless possibilities,

In a youth succumbing to negative peer pressure,

For I know that her misconceived bigotries,

Can be wheeled back by the Power Supreme into positive abundant measures,

I see limitless possibilities,

In a single mother attempting an abortion,

For the Lord of life’s uncertainties,

Can in her situation bring a new revelation,

I see limitless possibilities,

In a single mother desiring her child to give the best,

For the Giver of life’s gifts and responsibilities,

Will adorn her with wisdom that lasts,

I see limitless possibilities,

In a single father unsure of the future,

For in his seemingly present incapacities,

God grants him increasing knowledge the youthful soul to nurture,

I see limitless possibilities,

In the marriage where husband is trapped in an affair,

For the God who created marriage as the holy matrimony,

Is able to teach both husband and wife how to be fair,

I see limitless possibilities,

In the marriage where the wife’s heart aches,

For the God who teaches us how with one another to be friendly,

Can save her soul for His name’s sake,

I see limitless possibilities,

In a grandparent caring for orphaned grandchildren,

For in the reality of death and stolen dreams,

God has a treasure house now that lasts forever though presently hidden,

I see limitless possibilities,

In one struck by fatal illness,

For in the sick bed of infirmities,

God’s presence brings quiet and stillness,

What possibilities do you see?

What visions do you comprehend?

What perceptions do you believe?

What barriers will you transcend?

Then let the Holy Spirit descend,

Abide in our hearts His love to embrace,

Prepare us toward heaven to ascend,

Filled with faith, victory and abundant grace.

Friend, we are called to respond to His love with obedience and to grace, with OBEDIENCE. If we sin, we must confess, for though the possibilities be many, the blessings will come to those that through divine grace, love to walk in OBEDIENCE to God. 

~Beryl Nyamwange @2016

21.jpg

 

